For many heavy metal fans, Metallica epitomizes the genre, especially for those listeners who remember the band’s fast-and-furious 1983 debut, Kill ‘Em All. As a result, their continued foray into a more stripped-down, laid-back sound with this album has met a mixed response. However, there’s enough innovation and just plain strange stuff on this album to make it worth a listen. The creepy “The Memory Remains” is perfectly accentuated by Marianne Faithfull’s backing vocals, and “Where the Wild Things Are” features the multilayered vocals and guitars that Metallica is famous for, albeit at about half their usual speed. The opening (“Fuel”) and closing (“Fixxxer”) tracks are especially strong, and intermixed with some slower, country-inflected tunes are the obnoxious rockers that made Metallica the long-running success they are. –Genevieve Williams

1. Fuel –
2. Memory Remains –
3. Devil’s Dance –
4. Unforgiven II –
5. Better Than You –
6. Slither
7. Carpe Diem Baby –
8. Bad Seed –
9. Where the Wild Things Are –
10. Prince Charming
11. Low Man’s Lyric –
12. Attitude –
13. Fixxxer

2 Responses to “Reload”